poems

18 Days Without You

This poem is the one closest to my heart. It’s long, and also more of an ode than just a poem.

On the last day of the session
I couldn’t shake off this aberration
I may never see you again!
The dread froze in my brain
The insecurity crept up my veins
The thought broke my heart
And the unsolved riddle,
Stopped me from living life.
So I tried to drink you in,
Preserve the little that was my everything
You weren’t made to be a forgotten lore
But someone to be cherished, forever more.

My faith in you had no bound
For like the sun, you rose every dawn
You didn’t know you were blinding, my sunshine
And that your smile was what made my day
And a single word addressed to me,
Far sweeter than any lullaby
You were my drug; you are still my addiction
And for that, your seven sins are all forgiven.
Ignore me all you want, don’t glance at me at all
It’s impossible to change my state of mind
I still want to die in your arms and no others
And will always continue to love, crave and care
For you are as mine as I am yours.

The 18 days that sucked out my lifetime
Each worse than its harbinger
And with surety now, I know
Some infinities are far greater than the others.
The first three days I lived in hope
For I was tucked up in my humble home
Though by the sixth, I was quite unsure
My belief, I believe, was misplaced
For you never showed up again
On the seventh, eighth and ninth,
I swear I heard murder cry
Staining my world with her broken tears
As the mourning dove sung a doleful tune

Each day I woke up with new hope
Only to have it crushed under your invisible boot
Unwanted, unnoticed, I walked through crowds
The world oblivious to my despicable woe
For the next three days,
I felt like a lost soul wandering in hell’s dimensions
There had never been any greater desperation
For I wished, I prayed, I requested
I appealed, I pleaded and begged
That I was all but my mind’s illusion
Wanting wake from a nightmare so full of dire
That the masterpiece of horror in comparison
Seemed nothing but a mere hallucination

Through a dozen days and three more
I tried not to hear, but eavesdrop
Watch out for any information
Though all my efforts led to naught
In finding your whereabouts
Your name still sent shivers down my throat
So I wished for the mirage to come alive
For you comforted me with your presence
Now, there is neither you nor serenity
Please come out of hiding; tell me where you are
I promise I’ll give you all I ever had
Sunshine, my dear sunshine,
I trust you, not with my heart
But to burn the black clouds that hold you back

The next morning, I dreamt of a world together,
Of held hands and stolen passion
And little secrets hidden in your iris
With mysteries that lay as deep as night
I sure could have lost myself in those eyes
I even believe I did, for waking up
Shattered my new found comfort
And I drowned again in sorrow’s ocean.
No sun charmed his way though my midnight
No warmth kissed away the ice in me
A hollow tool, I walked the earth
Unsure, without you, of her purpose

It’s only been seventeen days since I last saw you
I lie counting the days without your smoldering glance
Then why does it feel like a lifetime?
I miss you, I really do; and I regret
It’s only a bulb full of memories of you that I have
And not my blinding, perfect sunshine
Just ask, ask me once
Let me hear that siren’s call
And unable to resist the melody’s lure
I’ll swim through the severest of tempests
And unleash my claws to do you right
Always by your side, even if my right is the white.

The eighteenth day, is not my last
But still numb with pain, I strive ahead
For pain, my darling, demands to be felt
And in its stubborn wake I live
Not by choice, but by will
And because I know no other way than
Waiting for my sun to brighten my day
For one day, the clouds would part
And the rain would cease its fall
You’d risk a peek from beneath those lush lashes
And nothing would stop your red-hot sunshine
From streaming through my eyes again

The sun is whom I most adore
The one who conquered my mind, heart and soul
Hence, I present you with this crown
My conqueror, my love, my king
For princes don’t have that much influence
To sway me from the path set eons ago.
On the strands of truth woven by fate herself
This infinite wait stretches on and on,
Towards the forever out of reach
I can’t promise an eternity
But I must promise you this
I’ll wait for you as long as I live
These 18 days were just the beginning.

For more content from Moonlight, click here

5 thoughts on “18 Days Without You”

  1. One can’t write such a beautiful piece on love and especially when all of your posts portray unconditional love beautifully which doesn’t seem to exist in this world now if you haven’t been in love so deeply..your posts reflect your true being and your depth of love as if you have been through each of these ..according to me..

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think you have loved so deeply that your words and thoughts are always about and around love for which you can wait unconditionally till infinite period time ( it seems from your writings).. actually writings reflect one’s soul and nature.. I am glad to connect with such a loving and beautiful soul .❤❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment